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MILK 101

Maine Milk Commission

June 2024 Version

Understanding 
Milk Pricing   

in Maine
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Maine milk can only be shipped in one 
direction, or must stay within Maine

1

2



2

3

Maine Milk Commission
(State Order Pricing)

History and Background

• A Maine Milk Control Law was enacted in 1935 by the 87th Legislature to 
eliminate a number of serious problems confronting the dairy industry and 
the consuming public. Glaring conditions necessitating this corrective 
action included price wars, farmers failing to receive payment for milk 
deliveries, dealer bankruptcies, consumers receiving low quality milk, etc.

• Under the law, a Maine Milk Commission was created to arbitrate 
differences, establish minimum prices in designated areas after proper 
hearings and exercise general supervision over the milk industry. Its basic 
function was, and still is, to ensure that there will be a plentiful supply 
of pure, wholesome milk available at all times, in all places, at 
reasonable prices.
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Maine Milk Commission
(State Order Pricing)

• The Maine Milk Commission is comprised of five members, four of whom are 
appointed by the Governor and shall serve a term of 4 years. Within its 
membership shall be the Commissioner of Agriculture, Conservation and 
Forestry, ex-officio and the remaining four members shall have no official 
business or professional connection or relation with any segment of the dairy 
industry.

• Among the specified powers granted by the Legislature, the Commission has 
the authority to set minimum prices paid to producers as well as minimum 
retail and wholesale milk prices. The Milk Commission is authorized to audit 
dealers' books and to determine the utilization of all milk purchased.

• The Maine Milk Commission is financed by a $0.05 per hundredweight fee on 
milk paid by licensed dealers. The Commission receives no general fund tax 
monies.
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FMMO 1 Marketing Area
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A new CA 
federal order 
was recently 
approved to 
be included 

in the federal 
pricing 
system.  

ME is not officially in 
Federal Order One –
but the 2 major fluid 
processing plants in 
ME are subject to 
federal order pricing 
because they sell  
< 25% of their product 
into states that are in 
the federal order – so 
ME dairy farmers are 
paid federal order 
pricing by those plants.

Industry Consolidation has resulted 
in the majority of Maine Milk 

being pooled & priced into FMMO-1
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Maine Milk Commission
(Studies to Determine Appropriate Minimum Pricing Levels)

Studies conducted via RFP/contract on 3-year rotation.

• Cost of Production (Producer Margin) – Ch. 26
Last completed on 2017 calendar year.  
Awaiting Legislative review/approval – Jan/Feb 2019

• Cost of Processing (Dealer Margin) – Ch. 29
Study complete on 2018 processing costs.  
Public comment period closed Nov 5, 2018.  
Decision anticipated at Nov 20, 2018 monthly price setting hearing.

• Cost of Retailing (Retailer Margin) – Ch. 27
(Herbein & Company contracted to conduct this study with a final report due by 
December 2019.)

Breakdown of Federal Order Pricing 
Statistical Uniform Blend
(retroactive 2-months)8

Chapter 3 Rule:  

Monthly Schedule of 
Minimum Prices

Class I Federal Order Announced Price

Producer Margin (Cost of Production 
Adjustment, based on Ch 26 studies)

Federal & State Promotion Fee

Over-Order Premium (Set by Co-ops) - % 
of Class I sales = pd to farmers

Federal Components Pricing

Minimum Wholesale & Retail Prices, 
by size of container

(Based on Chapter 27 & 29 Studies)
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Milk Price depends 
on Final Disposition

4 Classes of Milk

Class I Fluid milk for drinking (including 
eggnog & buttermilk)

Class II Soft products (sour cream, yogurt, 
cottage cheese, ice cream, etc.)

Class III Hard cheese, cream cheese, & whey

Class IV Butter, Powder9
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3 Checks per month & timing

Advanced Price:
USDA announces on or 
before the 23rd of each month

Get paid for the first 15 days 
of the month on an estimate 
of what the price will be at 
the end of the month.

Arrives to farmers anytime 
from the 25th of the current 
month to the 10th of the next 
month

Class & Component Prices:
(“Settlement” check)
USDA annouces on or before the 5th of 
each month (for the previous month) 

Covers the last 13-16 days of the month 
and makes adjustments between the 
anticipated price and the actual price

Maine Pool Payment:
Determined on-before the10th

of the month for previous 
month.  Sent to farmers/co-
ops within 10 days 
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Market Premiums

Quality

Local (MMC 
Producer 

Margin / ME 
Premium)

Over-order

R-BST free

Volume

Organic

ME Milk Pool
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Maine Milk Commission
(Maine Milk Pool)

• The Maine Milk Pool was created by state statute in 1983, to allow the 
Commission to assess a Producer Margin (also known as a “Cost of 
Production adjustment”, or “an Adjustment for Maine conditions”) as 
needed through the Maine Minimum Price setting system.

• Established as a set amount, but calculated using the each milk dealer’s 
Class I utilization rate, the amount is collected each month from each milk 
handler/dealer, pooled together, and equally distributed to Maine dairy 
farms.

• Initially limited to 15-cents/cwt, the Producer Margin is established each month 
through rulemaking, after a public hearing during which testimony can be offered 
to update the Commission on the financial conditions of Maine farms.  In later 
years, the Producer Margin has risen as high as $1.68/cwt, however, declines in 
Class I sales have also lead to smaller percentages of the set amount being 
collected and distributed. 
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Maine Milk Pool Program
Flow of funding

Agriculture distributes funds to Processors
for distribution back to farmers,

based upon department calculations

Funds from Milk Processors
on milk sold in Maine
based upon premium

set by Milk Commission monthly

Processors 
(Houlton Farms, Garelick Farms, 

Hoods & Oakhurst)
send funds to

Department of Agriculture

Smiling Hill Farm, 
1

3

2

14

Maine Milk Commission
Chapter 14 Rule:  30 Days Notice

01 DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, CONSERVATION AND FORESTRY
015 MAINE MILK COMMISSION

SUMMARY: Notice requirement adopted by the Maine Milk Commission for distributors to give 
before terminating milk deliveries to a customer.

Distributors must give 30 days written notice by registered or certified letter before terminating delivery to any 
customer in their delivery area or in the traditional delivery areas of a distributor they have purchased. The 30 
days notice requirement does not apply to cancellations resulting from failure to pay bills.

2. The notice will identify the closest delivery point where the distributor's product will be available 
for pickup by the affected customer.

3. The distributor will identify other distributors, if any, by name and address who are servicing the 
area and from whom a replacement supply may be available.

4. A copy of the notice dated and signed by an official of the distributor will be sent to the Maine Milk 
Commission identifying the customer by name and address, within the same 30 days requirement.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 7 M.R.S.A. §2953 (PL 1975, c. 5A Section 2, May 11, 1989).
EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 1990
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Maine Dairy Farms vs. Milk 
Production      1945-2020
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The Pricing Disconnect….

17

Maine’s Organic Dairy Farmers also 
Feel the Pinch – but slightly differently

Maine organic dairy farmers 
can benefit from the 

predictability of contract pricing, 
but are subject to significantly 

higher input costs & compliance 
requirements for certification.
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Increasing competition from milk-alternative beverages and 
slower-than-anticipated growth in organic milk sales have created 
slack in the supply-and-demand balance of organic milk, leading 
to an erosion of premiums, addition of marketing/transportation 
charges, implementation of quota limitations on production, and 

reduction in contract prices.  
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Early Maine State Efforts

1984 – Maine dairy farmers created a volunteer group to talk 
about industry challenges & find ways to work together to 
solve them.  (Creation of Maine Dairy Industry Association)

1991 – Created the Maine Dairy Farm Stabilization Act & 
Vendor Fee (MRSA Title 36; Part 7; Ch. 708-A  - Collected 5-cent/gal on milk processed in 
Maine and paid $ from dedicated account back to Maine dairy farmers.)

1994 – Massachusetts enacted similar legislation, which was 
struck down  by the courts (West Lynn Creamery, Inc. v. Healy  512 US 186 - 1994)

1994 – Maine revised its program in response to the court 
case.   

Regional & Federal Changes

20

1997 – Northeast Dairy Compact was ratified by NE states and 
approved by Congress.  

Maine repealed its Dairy Farm Stabilization / Vendor Program.  

2000 – Federal Order System implemented component 
based pricing (instead of the Minnesota-Wisconsin price 
discovery system).

2001 – Northeast Dairy Compact failed to be re-authorized 
by Congress.  
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The Tier Program Concept

Fill the gap between the 
price farmers are paid 
and their cost 
of production
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Current 
Maine Dairy Stabilization Program

Tier Levels         (Effective 8-1-2022)
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Target Price:Annual Production 
Range:

Tier Level:

$23.050 – 16,790  CWTTier 1

$21.4416,791 to 49,079 CWTTier 2

$20.9349,080 to 76,803 CWT Tier 3

$20.21Over 76,803 CWT Tier 4
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Traveling through the Tiers

June – Everyone’s production starts at 0 pounds = Tier 1

Move through the Tiers

More cows = move faster
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Understanding How to Calculate 
the Tier Payments     (November 2023 prices)

Basic Price for Milk (Statistical Blend) $20.74 

Over Order Premium for  +  $    .32
( average / 33% in ME Class I utilization of $1.04)

Organic farms do not receive an Over Order Premium, =  $ 21.06
So $0 is added to the blend – making the calculation
simpler and more accurate to predict.

24
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Traveling through the Tiers

Each farm’s production is 
individually tracked each month

Each farm’s Tier Payment is 
individually calculated 

for each month
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Understanding How to Calculate 
the Tier Payments    (November 2023 prices)

Support Level Minimum Price Tier Payment

Tier 1 $23.05 - $21.06 = $1.99 / cwt 

Tier 2 $21.44 - $21.06 = $0.38 / cwt 

Tier 3 $20.93 - $21.06 = no payment 

Tier 4 $20.21 - $21.06 = no payment 

1-18-24 edition
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NEW 
Maine Dairy Stabilization Program

Tier Levels         (Effective 7-1-2024)
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Target Price:Annual Production 
Range:

Tier Level:

$24.510 – 16,790  CWTTier 1

$23.3716,791 to 49,079 CWTTier 2

$22.6049,080 to 76,803 CWT Tier 3

$21.88Over 76,803 CWT Tier 4

Milk Money – Part 2

Milk Handling Fee

First entity to touch 
milk, pays fee to 
state of Maine

28
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Current Handling Fee Schedule
Effective March 2010

Per Gallon 

Fee

Class I

of Milk

Class I Price 

of Milk

$ 0.04and over$21.00

$ 0.08$20.99to$20.00

$ 0.12$19.99to$19.50

$ 0.16$19.49to$19.00

$ 0.20$18.99to$18.50

$0.24$18.49to$18.00

Handling Fee increases incrementally by $.04 every $.50 of Class I price

Maximum Fee Rate = $0.84 / gal 

(reached when Class I price falls below $10.99/cwt)29

30

Dairy Program(s) Flow of funding

If not enough Oxford $ to cover all payments, 
DACF requests General Fund transfers

based upon monthly calculations of need.

General

Fund

Oxford $ must be all 
used for Tier payments   

BEFORE accessing 
any General Fund $

Maine Milk Commission establishes rate each 
month based on Federal Order Class I Milk Price. 

Fee is paid by Consumers when they buy milk. 

Fee is collected by Processors & Retailers and 
sent to Maine Revenue Services.

State Deposits 
Handling Fee 

in the  
General Fund.

Milk 
Handling 

Fee

Sent to State &  
Deposited in a non-lapsing, 

dedicated account to be 
used for the Tier Program.

0.5% of slots 
revenue from 

Oxford Casino 

When Milk Blend Price falls 
below safety net levels 

= 
Farms paid according to cost 
of production for their amount 

of milk produced

Maine Dairy 
Stabilization “Tier” 

Payments to Farmers
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Forecasting is Educated Guessing

31
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Maine Dairy 
farms 
2023
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